I joined WCA in 2019, working in the rights department and helping to bring our wonderful clients’ books to an international audience. Currently, as a literary associate working with Jackie Kaiser and Hilary McMahon, I’m delighted to continue to champion the clients I share with Jackie and Hilary, and look forward to discovering and nurturing new voices.

My career in publishing began when I interned at McClelland & Stewart while pursuing Ryerson’s publishing program. Before entering the publishing world, I worked in the arts, communications, education, and legal industries in Toronto and Hong Kong. I earned my BA in English and Art History in Hong Kong and an MA in Medieval and Renaissance literature in Durham, UK. I grew up watching TVB dramas and immersed in Cantopop culture, and I’m proud to be fluent in Cantonese and to be able to speak Mandarin conversationally.

What I Love to Read

In narrative non-fiction, I’m drawn to fresh, unique, diverse, and well-informed voices, especially pop culture, social issues, popular history, big ideas, current affairs, and popular science. Books that I’ve been excited by are Joshua Wong’s Unfree Speech, Nicholas Kristof and Sheryl WuDunn’s Tightrope, Ada Calhoun’s Why We Can’t Sleep, and Priya Parker’s The Art of Gathering, and a few of my go-to podcasts are NPR’s Throughline, Wondery’s Business Wars, and Ringer Dish (especially their series Every Single Album: Taylor Swift). I’m also interested in practical non-fiction: self-improvement, health, and lifestyle.

In fiction, I’d love to see submissions in the vein of Nancy Jooyoun Kim’s The Last Story of Mina Lee and Asha Lemmie’s Fifty Words for Rain.

In children’s literature, I’m especially interested in fiction and non-fiction picture book texts, middle grade fiction, and illustration.