Wagamese, Stephenson and MacDonald Longlisted for IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

By News

The longlist for the 2014 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award was just announced, and WCA is thrilled to have three authors represented on the list. To read about the nominated novels, please click on the author’s title below:

D.R MacDonald: Anna From Away (HarperCollins)

Ben Stephenson, A Matter of Life and Death or Something (D&M)

Richard Wagamese, Indian Horse (D&M)

Books on the longlist were nominated by libraries in 39 countries. The shortlist will be made public on April 9th, and the €100,000 winner revealed on June 12th.

For more information, please visit:


By News

Klondike, a six hour television mini-series based on Charlotte Gray’s 2010 bestseller Gold Diggers: Striking It Rich in the Klondike, will be broadcast on the Discovery Channel in January, 2014. A $25 million production, it stars Sam Shepard, Abbie Cornish, Tim Roth and Richard Madden.

To get a sneak preview of the series, please visit: http://klondike-history.discovery.com/

Gold Diggers: Striking It Rich in the Klondike was published in Canada by HarperCollins and in the US by Counterpoint.

Smith Wins Weston Prize

By News

WCA is thrilled to announce that Graeme Smith has won the third annual Hilary Weston Writers’ Trust Prize for excellence in non-fiction. The $60,000 prize is Canada’s richest annual award for non-fiction. Smith received the prize on Monday evening at a ceremony in Toronto for his memoir The Dogs Are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan.

Wagamese wins the Burt Award for First Nations, Metis and Inuit Literature

By News

Please join me in congratulating Richard Wagamese for winning the Burt Award for First Nations, Metis and Inuit Literature. The award recognizes outstanding literary works for young adults written by First Nations, Métis and Inuit authors. Richard Wagamese received the first prize of $12,000 for Indian Horse (published by Douglas and McIntyre ), and will have 2,500 copies delivered to First Nations, Métis and Inuit youth across Canada.

More information about the prize can be found here:  http://www.codecan.org/burt-award/news/canada/richard-wagamese-wins-burt-award-first-nations-m%C3%A9tis-and-inuit-literature-fir

Selvadurai, Uppal and James nominated for Governor General’s Literary Awards

By News

The nominees for the Governor General’s Literary Awards were announced on Wednesday, and WCA is proud to have three authors on the list:

Shyam Selvadurai for THE HUNGRY GHOSTS (fiction category)

Priscila Uppal for PROJECTION (non-fiction category)

Matt James for NORTHWEST PASSAGE (children’s literature – illustration category)

The winners will be announced on November 13 in Toronto. For more information, please visit: http://ggbooks.canadacouncil.ca/

WCA Authors Dominate Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction Shortlist

By News

The Writers’ Trust of Canada released its short list for this year’s Hilary Weston Writers Trust Prize for Nonfiction, and Westwood Creative Artists authors were named as four of the five finalists. The prize is awarded for literary excellence in the category of nonfiction, and with $60,000 to be awarded to the winner, it is the richest nonfiction prize in Canada. The winner of the prize will be announced at the Art Gallery of Ontario on Oct. 21.

WCA’s nominated authors are:

Thomas King for The Inconvenient Indian: A Curious Account of Native People in North America (Doubleday Canada)

Graeme Smith for The Dogs are Eating Them Now: Our War in Afghanistan (Knopf Canada)

Andrew Steinmetz for This Great Escape: The Case of Michael Paryla (Biblioasis)

Priscila Uppal for Projection: Encounters With My Runaway Mother (Dundurn Press)

For information about the prize, please visit: http://www.writerstrust.com/awards/hilary-weston-writers-trust-prize.aspx

Carol Shaben wins Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction

By News

WCA would like to congratulate Carol Shaben on winning the $10,000 Edna Staebler Award for Creative Non-Fiction.

INTO THE ABYSS has had a great run. A #1 Bestseller in Canada, a finalist for the Hubert Evans Non-Fiction Prize, a Barnes & Noble Spring/Summer 2013 Discover Great New Writers pick, an Amazon.com Best Book of the Month (for May 2013), A PW Best New Book for the Week, and an Indie Bestseller, it was also featured as a BBC Radio 4 Book of the Week.

Bergen Wins Two Prizes at the Manitoba Book Awards

By News

The Age of Hope by David Bergen has won the Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award and the Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction at the Manitoba Book Awards. The Carol Shields Winnipeg Book Award honours books that evoke the special character of and contribute to the appreciation and understanding of the City of Winnipeg. The Margaret Laurence Award for Fiction is awarded to a Manitoba writer whose book is judged the best book of adult fiction published in 2012. Bergen has now won four Margaret Laurence awards and three Carol Shields awards. Congratulations David!