Erna Paris to receive WFM Canada World Peace Award

Acclaimed Canadian author Erna Paris is the 2012 recipient of the WFM – Canada World Peace Award.

The award, to be presented July 12 in Winnipeg, recognizes an outstanding Canadian whose work advances awareness and action in support of a more peaceful future for humanity.

Paris ( is the author of seven books and the winner of ten national and international prizes.

The World Federalist Movement – Canada ( is a longstanding Canadian NGO dedicated to reforming global institutions and strengthening the rule of law in world affairs.

The World Peace Award has been presented annually or every second year since 1972. There have been 31 previous recipients, including most recently, Lloyd Axworthy, Louise Arbour, Philippe Kirsch, Roméo Dallaire, Ernie Regehr, Gerry Barr and Flora MacDonald.