Hamilton wins Ellis Award

By News

WCA is thrilled to announce that Ian Hamilton’s The Water Rat of Wanchai has won the 2012 Arthur Ellis Award for Best First Novel.

The Crime Writers of Canada’s citation of the novel follows:

Ian Hamilton’s The Water Rat of Wanchai is a smart, action-packed thriller of the first order, and Ava Lee, a gay Asian-Canadian forensics accountant with a razor-sharp mind and highly developed martial arts skills, is a protagonist to be reckoned with. We were impressed by Hamilton’s tight plotting; his well-rendered settings, from the glitz of Bangkok to the grit of Guyana; and his ability to portray a wide range of sharply individualized characters in clean but sophisticated prose.

For more information, please visit:


Conrad Black named a 2012 National Business Book Award Finalist

By News

Conrad Black’s A Matter of Principle, published by McClelland & Stewart, has been named a finalist for the 2012 National Business Book Awards.

In the book, Black offers a candid memoir of his indictment and trial, along with a critical account of what he perceives to be flawed in the U.S. justice system. The book offers an insider’s glimpse at this high-profile case from Black’s perspective.

For more information please visit:


Richard Gwyn’s biography of John A. Macdonald wins Cohen prize

By News

WCA is thrilled to announce that Richard Gwyn’s bestselling biography of Sir John A. Macdonald has won the $25,000 Shaughnessy Cohen Prize for Political Writing at a ceremony in Ottawa on Wednesday night.

Nation Maker is “a fully rounded and compelling portrait of our first prime minister’s public and private life,” according to the Cohen prize citation. “Gwyn shows how Macdonald built a nation out of a reluctant union of impoverished colonies, and shaped the Canada we know today.”

For more information, please visit:


Nason Shortlisted for 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize

By News

Riel Nason’s debut novel The Town That Drowned has been declared a finalist for the 2012 Commonwealth Book Prize. Since its release in the Fall of 2011, The Town That Drowned has been a critical and commercial hit. Riel’s novel has also been nominated for the Atlantic Book Publishers Association’s Margaret and John Savage First Book Award and the Canadian Library Association Young Adult Book Award.

Regional winners will be announced May 24, and the overall winner will be announced at the Hay Festival, Wales in the UK, on Friday, June 8.

David Bergen Shortlisted for International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award

By News

David Bergen’s The Matter with Morris (HarperCollins Canada) has been shortlisted for the International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

Bergen’s novel is the only Canadian title in the running for the prize, which awards 100,000 British pounds to the winner, and is billed as “the world’s most valuable annual literary award for a single work of fiction published in English.”

The Matter with Morris, Bergen’s sixth novel, about a middle-aged man whose son is killed in Afghanistan, made the short list for the 2010 Scotiabank Giller Prize. Bergen won the Giller in 2005 for the novel The Time in Between, which was also longlisted for the IMPAC Dublin award. His new novel, The Age of Hope, will be published by HarperCollins Canada in the fall.

For more information, please visit: http://www.impacdublinaward.ie/