Renzetti, Fu, Islam, and Burrows shortlisted for Kobo Emerging Writer Prize

By May 20, 2015September 22nd, 2015News

Westwood is proud to announce that Elizabeth Renzetti, Kim Fu, Ghalib Islam, and Steve Burrows have been nominated for the Kobo Emerging Writer Prize!

The annual award, designed to kick-start the careers of debut authors, will award a $10,000 CAD cash prize to a book in each of three categories: Literary Fiction, Genre Fiction (beginning with Mystery this year), and Non-Fiction.

Our authors have been nominated in the following categories:

Literary Fiction

Fiction (Mystery)

The shortlist, selected by Kobo’s team of booksellers and taking into consideration book completion rates, customer ratings and reviews, comprises five books in each genre. The shortlist will now move on to the final selection process, led by top Canadian authors: Charlotte Gray for Non-Fiction, Miriam Toews for Literary Fiction, and Ian Hamilton for Genre Fiction (Mystery), with winners announced on July 7.

For the complete shortlist, click here.